The El Badii Palace (Palais el-Badii) was built at the end of the sixteenth century by the sultan Ahmed al-Mansour to commemorate the victory of the Battle of the Three Kings against the Portuguese. Today, what remains is a vast ruin separated from the outside by enormous thick clay walls, steeped in history and culture. The walls have become home to many storks who have constructed huge nests and are always present.
There is peaceful quiet in the huge empty space – the generous space allows visitors to spread out, so the palace never feels uncomfortably crowded. Try to immerse yourself in the sense of time gone by and imagine the palace in its former splendour – it is reported that “The Incomparable” (El Badii) was a palace with over 300 rooms decorated in gold, turquoise and crystal.
In 1672, the Alawite sovereign Moualy Ismaïl dismantled the palace to enrich the residences of Meknes, the new imperial capital. The palace was stripped in its entirety and only the foundations remained.